Célébration des 60 années passées au sein de l’Europe

La Chambre belge des traducteurs et interprètes (CBTI-BKVT) a fêté son 60e anniversaire à Bruxelles au coeur de l’Europe, en présence d’invités, dont notre président le Dr Henry Liu et les présidents de nombreuses associations membres européennes.

Parmi les orateurs invités à la conférence de cette cérémonie figuraient Agnès Feltkamp et Chris Durban, bien connues dans la famille de la FIT. Jean-Bernard Quicheron, président honoraire, a fait revivre maintes anecdotes pour brosser un tableau fascinant de l’histoire de la CBTI-BKVT. Le président Liu a souligné le fort support historique de la Chambre envers la FIT et insisté sur l’importance particulière que revêt aujourd’hui la solidarité en Europe.

L’assemblée générale de la FIT a suivi ces festivités.

Le président Liu avait saisi cette occasion pour se rendre spécialement auprès du professeur René Haeseryn. Conseiller honoraire de la FIT et éditeur honoraire de Babel, il a envoyé ses salutations chaleureuses à la Fédération tout entière depuis sa résidence de Gand sous un resplendissant soleil automnal. Il a également exprimé sa satisfaction devant les avancées constantes de la FIT.

Le président a également pu rencontrer au cours des cinq jours de cette visite officielle :

Version pdf à télécharger

Share Button

  • Published: 2 années ago on 26 octobre 2015

Celebrating 60 years in the Heart of Europe

The Belgian Chamber of Translators and Interpreters (CBTI-BKVT) marked their 60th birthday celebrating in Brussels, the heart of Europe, with invited guests, FIT President Dr Henry Liu and presidents of many of our European associations.

Invited presenters at the celebratory conference included Agnès Feltkamp and Chris Durban - speakers well known to the FIT Family. Honorary President Jean-Bernard Quicheron’s many animated anecdotes painted a fascinating overview of CBTI-BKVT history. President Liu outlined the chamber’s strong historical support for FIT and reiterated the particular importance of solidarity in Europe today.

The FIT Europe General Assembly followed the celebrations.

President Liu also took advantage of the occasion to pay a special visit to Professor René Haeseryn, FIT Honorary Advisor and Honorary Editor of Babel. From his residence in Ghent, under the glorious autumnal sun, he sent his warm greetings to the entire Federation and was pleased to see FIT continues to break new ground.

During the five-day official visit, the FIT President also met with:

  • AIIC and Red T, partners of advocacy effort on behalf of conflict zone interpreters
  • The Head of Translation Service in NATO
  • The Head of Interpreting Service in NATO
  • Director General of Translation at the European Commission
  • The Head of Unit (Professional and Organisational Development) at DG Translation
  • The President of ENPSIT

Download press release here

Share Button

  • Published: 2 years ago on 26 October 2015