Téléchargez le document au format pdf ici

Version 1, avril 2015

Contexte
Le terme de « crowdsourcing » ou « externalisation ouverte » est une combinaison des termes « crowd » (foule) et « outsourcing » (externalisation), employé pour la première fois en 2006 par Jeff Howe, pour définir un modèle d'exécution des tâches, que ce soit dans le domaine de la conception, de la communication ou de la traduction. La société d'études de marché Common Sense Advisory regroupe les multiples manifestations de ce phénomène en trois grandes catégories appelées CT3: la traduction communautaire/sociale, la traduction collaborative et la traduction collective/en équipe (dePalma 2008).

Crowdsourcing
La FIT attire l'attention des utilisateurs des services de traducteurs, interprètes et terminologues sur les risques du crowdsourcing, en se fondant sur les recherches les plus récentes.

Il mobilise les compétences, le temps et l'énergie d'une collectivité de collaborateurs pour l'exécution d'une tâche, avec pour seule récompense d'être apprécié, avoir l’honneur d’avoir contribué voire de cultiver ses intérêts, en lieu et place d'une compensation financière.

L’externalisation est définie comme « le fait pour une entreprise ou une institution de cesser de confier une fonction à ses employés pour la sous-traiter à un réseau non défini de personnes (généralement nombreuses) par un appel ouvert » (Howe, 2006a).

Cette façon innovante de faire des affaires a souvent été qualifiée de nouvelle révolution industrielle, source du « nouveau vivier de main-d’oeuvre bon marché » (Howe, 2006b). Le monde des affaires, sous la pression accrue d’élargir ses services clients et de réduire les coûts, il lui manque les ressources, compétences et connaissances nécessaires pour apporter des solutions complètes.

L'idée suprême de l’externalisation externe est de pouvoir exécuter le travail rapidement, efficacement et à moindre coût, par une main-d’oeuvre bon marché d'amateurs : rapidité, flexibilité, meilleure productivité, diversification et une meilleure solidité du marché (Iansiti et al., 2002). Mais quelles sont les risques pour les entreprises en termes de qualité, de confidentialité des documents, de propriété intellectuelle, de la composition et de la pérennité de cette collectivité impliquée, de sa motivation et de sa responsabilité ?

Le fait que l'externalisation ouverte ait eu un impact sur l'organisation du travail et le statut professionnel des praticiens de l'industrie est indéniable. Au lieu d'être sollicités en priorité, les traducteurs professionnels sont souvent seulement appelés pour rattraper les défaillances. Selon Kannagngara et al., FIT identifie les domaines de risque suivants :

1. Incertitude des relations
L’externalisation ouverte est synonyme d’incertitudes: Qui constitue la « collectivité de collaborateurs » si les professionnels et les amateurs ne peuvent être distingués? Alors que ces collaborateurs peuvent appréhender les questions d'accessibilité et de familiarité avec les documents, dans quelle mesure le client peut-il accéder et se familiariser avec les collaborateurs ?
2. Contrôle/efficacité
La traduction en urgence augmente de manière exponentielle au risque de sacrifier la qualité. Les entreprises doivent faire très attention au choix collaborateurs (Rajala et al. 2013). L’évaluation des traductions par les utilisateurs peut constituer un défi de taille et le risque ne peut être quantifié. Ce contrôle ajoute une nouvelle dimension et des frais à la gestion des projets.
3. Coordination du travail
L’externalisation ouverte n’est pas synonyme de traitement parallèle. Bien que davantage de contenu semble pouvoir être traduit à moindre coût, le nombre accru d’intervenants augmente les erreurs potentielles et l’harmonisation stylistique est coûteuse en argent et en temps. Ce coût, a-t-il été évalué ?
4. Perte de savoir-faire et risques liés à la propriété intellectuelle
Si l'externalisation est très prisée par le secteur caritatif ou pour les contenus en manque de budget de traduction, « utilisée principalement pour des contenus peu importants ou générés par les utilisateurs qui ne sont actuellement pas traduits du tout » (Désilets), dans le domaine de fan-fiction et de la fiction contemporaine, elle pose de sérieuses questions en matière de droits d'auteur.

Recommandations
L'externalisation ouverte affecte de plus en plus toutes les facettes de notre métier mais les
décideurs doivent se poser des questions :

  • Comment identifier parmi les traducteurs et interprètes bénévoles ceux qui sont capables de fournir les solutions adaptées ?
  • Quelles sont les conséquences d’une divulgation d’informations sensibles et confidentielles ou du non-respect des droits de propriété intellectuelle ?
  • L’évaluation du travail de traducteurs bénévoles, est il dans nos compétences internes ?
  • Avons-nous un plan B si un ou plusieurs des risques ci-dessus se concrétisaient ?

La FIT et ses associations membres (www.fit-ift.org) sont à votre disposition pour vous aider à concrétiser votre projet de traduction de façon optimale.


Références

  • DePalma, DA, Kelly N, Translation of, for and by the people: How user- translated content projects work in real-life, Common
    Sense Advisory, 2008
  • Howe J, The rise of crowdsourcing, Wired Magazine, Issue 14.06, 2006
  • Howe J, 5 Rules of the New Labor Pool, Wired Magazine, Issue 14.06, 2006
  • Iansiti M, Levien R. Keynotes and Dominators: Framing Operating and Technology Strategy in a Business Ecosystem, Harvard Business School Working Paper, No. 03-061, November 2002
  • Kannangara SN, Uguccioni P, Risk Management in Crowdsourcing-Based Business Ecosystems, Technology Innovation Management Review December 2013
  • Rajala R, Westerlund M, Vuori M, Hares JP, From Idea Crowdsourcing to Managing User Knowledge, Technology Innovation Management Review December 2013

Download the document in pdf format here

Version 1, April 2015

Background
Crowdsourcing as a term was first coined as a combination of ‘crowd’ and ‘outsourcing’ by Jeff Howe in 20061, defining a model for task completion, be it design, communication or translation. Common Sense Advisory attempted to group this diverse phenomenon into three broad categories known as CT3 - (a) community / social; (b) collaborative and (c) crowdsourced / team translation (dePalma 2008).

Crowdsourcing
FIT as the voice of associations of translators, interpreters and terminologists around the world, will below raise issues for users of translation, interpreting and terminology services and other interested parties pertinent to this evolving field based on the latest research.

As a technological model, crowdsourcing is harnessing the skills, time and energy of the crowd in execution of a task, with only the promise of appreciation, contribution and cultivating interests and loyalties in place of financial compensation.

Howe defines crowdsourcing as "the act of a company or institution taking a function once performed by employees and outsourcing it to an undefined (and generally large) network of people in the form of an open call" (Howe, 2006a). This innovative means of doing business has often been heralded as another Industrial Revolution providing “the new pool of cheap labor” (Howe, 2006b). As business comes under increasing pressure to expand its customer services and reduce costs it lacks the necessary resources, competencies and knowledge to provide complete solutions.

Crowdsourcing is seen simultaneously as an effort to get the job done quickly, efficiently and cost-effectively and as a corporate move to exploit cheap, amateur labour. Used judiciously, crowdsourcing can have benefits, including speed, scalability, faster user feedback, niche creation, selective increase in productivity and market diversification and robustness (Iansiti et al., 2002). It also raises questions of risks to business including threats to quality, confidentiality issues, intellectual property, composition and motivation of the crowd (who may disappear) and accountability.

That crowdsourcing has disrupted the organization of labour and professional status of industry practitioners is unquestionable. Rather than the first line of call, professional translators, interpreters and terminologists are often only called in to remedy failures and mitigate risks. Based on Kannagngara et al., FIT highlights the following areas of risk:

1. Relationship complexity
Crowdsourcing can introduce considerable complexity and with it uncertainty. Who is ‘the crowd’ in an environment where professionals and amateurs cannot be distinguished? While the crowd may understand the questions of accessibility and familiarity with the material, to what degree can the client have accessibility and familiarity with the crowd?
2. Control/effectiveness
With time pressures to complete translation of exponentially increasing content, quality can be sacrificed. Companies should therefore pay particular attention to choosing the right users for collaboration (Rajala et al. 2013). Evaluation of user-generated content can be very challenging, and the risk unquantifiable. Crowd control and monitoring add new dimensions and expenses to project management.
3. Co-ordination of workflow and duplication
Crowdsourcing does not mean parallel processing. While more content can be translated cost-effectively, increased participation means proportional increase in potential error. The process of identifying errors and ensuring consistency are costly and time-consuming.
4. Loss of know-how and intellectual property risks
While perhaps most suitable for the not-for-profit sector, crowdsourcing can be “used mostly for low-stake or user-generated content that is currently not being translated at all” (Désilets). Crowdsourced translation of fan-fiction and popular contemporary fiction raise copyright issues.

Recommendations
Growing prevalence of crowdsourcing affects all facets of the industry. The following questions are relevant to professional translators, interpreters and terminologists, users of translation, interpreting and terminology services and policymakers alike:

  • How to identify reliable translators, interpreters and terminologists who can provide suitable solutions?
  • What is the detriment to the project if sensitive information is leaked compromising confidentiality, security and/or intellectual property rights?
  • Do we have the in-house expertise to evaluate the crowd and thus to evaluate their solutions?
  • Do we have a contingency plan if one of the above risks or combination of risks eventuates?

For more information, contact FIT or an individual FIT member association in your country or region.


1 Wired Magazine article published in 2006.


References

  • DePalma, DA, Kelly N, Translation of, for and by the people: How user- translated content projects work in real-life, Common
    Sense Advisory, 2008
  • Howe J, The rise of crowdsourcing, Wired Magazine, Issue 14.06, 2006
  • Howe J, 5 Rules of the New Labor Pool, Wired Magazine, Issue 14.06, 2006
  • Iansiti M, Levien R. Keynotes and Dominators: Framing Operating and Technology Strategy in a Business Ecosystem, Harvard Business School Working Paper, No. 03-061, November 2002
  • Kannangara SN, Uguccioni P, Risk Management in Crowdsourcing-Based Business Ecosystems, Technology Innovation Management Review December 2013
  • Rajala R, Westerlund M, Vuori M, Hares JP, From Idea Crowdsourcing to Managing User Knowledge, Technology Innovation Management Review December 2013
Share Button