FIT has an international translation award designed to promote the translation of literary works written in languages of limited diffusion. The objectives of the award are to improve the quality of such literary translations and to draw attention to the role of translators in bringing the peoples of the world closer together in terms of culture.

2017 winner

György Buda
nominated by the Austrian Association of Literary and Scientific Translators (AALST)

Winners of the Karel Čapek Medal

2017György BudaAustria / Autriche
2014Kari KeményNorway / Norvège
2011Daniel KuneneSouth Africa / Afrique du Sud
2008Juhani SalokannelFinland / Finlande
2005Dr. Christa RothmeirAustria / Autriche
2002Turid FarbregdNorway / Norvège
1999Helena KadeckováCzech Republic / République Tchèque
1996Jerzy LítwiniukPoland / Pologne